About Us

DepEd, Division of Cavite Province (DepEd-Cavite), Trece Martires City, is one of the biggest Divisions in Region IV-A CALABARZON. It cuddles 63 Junior High Schools, 39 Senior High Schools governed by approximately 101 principals and head teachers with about 163,020 students and 262 Elementary Schools with 262 School Heads and Head Teachers, taking care of more than 229,921 children for SY 2021-2022, distributed in 18 Districts led by 34 Public School District Supervisors. Likewise, serving the province, are more than 400 Private Schools. The Division Office itself has more than 200 personnel who aim to extend services in the best way they can as expected of government employees.

A premiere Division, as described, it is considered to be the home of the champions, for its name in various competitions has been echoing pride and honor even to the Provincial and other Local Governments, its main external stakeholders.

Like other Division Offices, DepEd – Cavite promotes Transparent, Ethical, and Accountable Governance (TEA Governance) which has been made a mandate by Region IV-A CALABARZON based on the Mission, Vision and Goal of the Department of Education.

Historical Context

By the virtue of Commonwealth Act of 2711, March 10, 1917, Cavite was announced as one of the forty-two provinces that comprises the Grand Division of the (Philippine Islands) Philippines. Originally, Department of Education, Culture, and Sports – Cavite was located inside the compound of Ladislao Diwa Elementary School, Cavite City. In 1974, Cavite City was declared as an autonomous Division headed by Jose Bernal, Principal of Cavite National High School.

Schools Division of Cavite Province was then transferred to Brgy. Luciano, Trece Martires City. It composed of municipalities such as Alfonso, Amadeo, Carmons, Indang, GMA, Tanza, Tagaytay, Ternate, Trece Martires City, Silang, Gen. Trias, Naic, Bacoor, Imus, and Dasmariñas. It was headed by the first full-pledge Superintendent, Loreto Riego De Dios. The succeeding Superintendents are:

  • Honorio Ramos
  • Elena Benjamin
  • Dolores Orlina
  • Josefina Roque
  • Leonora Ignacio
  • Almabella Bautista
  • Nelda Dator
  • Yolanda Carpina
  • Victoria Pamienta
  • Tolentino Aquino
  • Cherrylou D. Repia
  • Rommel C. Bautista
  • Rosemarie D. Torres

In 2010, the City of Dasmariñas was separated from the Schools Division of Cavite Province after being granted and declared as an autonomous division. Cities of Bacoor and Imus were later heralded autonomous in 2013. By 2018, the Schools Division of General Trias was established and therefore, separated from the province. Currently, DepEd Schools Division Office of Cavite Province constitutes 16 municipalities and 2 cities.